Filtering and Writing Emails

Filtering Emails
When I first attempted filtering an email, I was slightly confused but gave it a second try with the help of 7 Gmail Filters to Make Email Less of a Chore and Gmail Filter Help. You begin by entering something into the search bar and scrolling down to the bottom of the search and clicking on Create filter using this search. Then choose what you’d like the filter to be and click Create Filter. I decided to go with the filter Community Service. As the Vice President-Community Service of my sorority, I receive many emails pertaining to girls in my sorority and their community service forms containing their hours for the semester. Although I do have a separate email for the girls to turn in their hours, sometimes they are sent to my personal email and get lost in other mail that I receive. This filter will allow me to keep track of any and all forms that go through my personal email.

Professional Email Example
Dr. Hossain,
My name is Karla Silva and I am currently enrolled in your TR CA 260-703 class. Due to the fact that I work for the football team, I will have to leave class early on Thursday, October 20, 2016, to go prepare the stadium for today’s weekday game. Since this is a campus excused event, attached to this email is my official university excuse. I have looked through the syllabus and see that your office hours correlate with my free periods and am wondering when would be the best time to come into your office to talk about what I will miss when I must leave class early. Please respond with your preferred time. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you so much in advance.
Sincerely,
Karla Silva
J005#####
kfs1421@jagmail.southalabama.edu

Reflection on the Previous Week
Writing in HTML proved to be harder than it seemed. I continue to practice my skills and I am finally improving. The readings from this week helped improve the professionalism of my emails and showed me how to create a filter in my email, which are both extremely useful for my future profession.

 

3 thoughts on “Filtering and Writing Emails

Leave a Reply

