The Scoop on Living in a Sorority House

Becoming a part of Kappa Delta Sorority is one of the best things I have ever done in college. I came into college with a handful of friends from high school because most of us went to different colleges and I knew being a pre-medicine major was going to make it difficult to make friends my first few semesters in college due to how large and impersonal the classes were. When my now best friend convinced me to go through recruitment with her, I was so hesitant about Greek life but decided to go through anyways.

Fast forward a whole year later and I now live in the sorority house and love (almost) every minute of it! Living in a sorority is super fun; you have all of your best friends as your roommate, hallmates, and neighbors. Since I’m a council member, I am required to live in my sorority house but it has benefitted me way more. Some days we wake up early enough to walk to the caf before our classes that are at 8 A.M.. Some night we go to the beach to clear our thoughts and erase all of our worries. There’s always a sister ready to listen to your problems and a shoulder to cry on if it’s needed. When all you want to do is sit inside all day and binge watch television, a sister is there to accompany you.

Sometimes, living in a sorority isn’t all fun and games. Living in a house with so many girls gets tough when you’re trying to study but nobody else in the house can be quiet. With it being more than just a common area for my friends and I, I like to study around the house because it’s where I’m most comfortable. Some nights you’re the girl that wants to stay in when everyone wants to go out and are waken up by your friends when you hear them come in after a really fun night.

Living in the house is one of my all-time favorite things and I’m extremely sad that I have to move out in December but it’s given me experiences and memories with friends that I will never forget and wouldn’t have gotten if I wouldn’t have moved into my sorority house.

img_5951
Pictured above is myself and my hallmate Madison.

Leave a Reply

